Available on the Enterprise plan
Overview
Workspace fields are global. They pull together related information across a series of projects so it can be grouped, searched, and filtered together, rather than each project defining its own fields in isolation. For fields scoped to a single project, see Data and doc fields.Create workspace fields
Managers and contributors can create these groups in settings and link them to a template or individual projects.- To do this, open ⚙️ Settings → Workspace fields and select
New field group. - From there, open either the
Data fieldsorDoc fields andpopulate these.
Edit workspace field groups
Managers and contributors can create new, edit, and use workspace field groups and individual fields.- To do this, navigate to ⚙️ Settings → Workspace fields, open the chosen field group and select
Editto update. Viewers cannot create or use workspace fields at all. - To delete a single workspace field, go to ⚙️ Settings → Workspace fields and open your field group.
- From there, click on the group title and select
Move to trash. Deleted workspace fields go to workspace trash where it can be restored for 30 days.
Remember that workspace fields are live. Changes you make to workspace fields will be reflected immediately in all linked projects.
Save values for select fields across projects
You can create pre-populated values for single or multi-select workspace fields for your connected project’s data and Docs.- To do this, navigate to ⚙️ Settings → Workspace fields and next to the field you wish to add values to, select Edit.
- From there, type and enter values that can be selected when applying to your data across projects.
Manage access to workspace field groups
When a manager or contributor has Full access to a workspace field group, they can restrict access of a workspace field group. For example, you may want to limit usage of a specific workspace field group to users from your Design or Research team.- To do this, go to ⚙️ Settings → Workspace fields, click on your chosen field group and select
Share. - From there, you can update access to the group by changing the workspace’s access to No access and proceed to add specific individuals or individuals to have Full, Edit or Can use access.
Delete a single workspace field from a group
- To delete a single workspace field from a group, navigate to ⚙️ Settings → Workspace fields and open the group the field lives within.
- From there, locate the field, select
Editbeside it and pressMove to trash. Deleted workspace fields go to workspace trash where it can be restored for 30 days.