
Workspaces on any plan can invite new users. User roles are available on the Enterprise plan and on legacy paid plans.Admin access can be granted to any user on any plan.
Add new users to your workspace
On plans without user roles, every user you invite occupies a paid seat.
Invite via email
You can invite new users to your workspace from the Users settings page.Workspaces without user roles
- Navigate to ⚙️ Settings → Users.
- Enter the email address of one or more users.
- Select Invite users.
Workspaces with user roles
User invitation permissions depend on your role:- Admins can invite users at any role level.
- Non-admin users can only invite others at a role equal to or lower than their own.
- For example, if you are a Contributor, you can invite users as either Contributors or Viewers.
- Navigate to ⚙️ Settings → Users.
- Enter the email address of one or more users.
- Select Invite users.
Managing and restricting who invites users
Workspace admins on plans with user roles can manage and restrict who invites new users via ⚙️ Settings → Security settings. Who can invite new users: This allows you to restrict users from inviting other users. Select between “Admins only” or “Anyone”. Who can invite users as contributors or managers: This allows you to restrict users from distributing paid seats. Select between “Admins only” or “Anyone”.Manage pending invites
Pending invitations appear at the top of the Users page, where you can:- Resend an invitation
- Revoke an invitation
Note: Invited users who are assigned a role other than Viewer will occupy a paid seat, even if the invitation has not yet been accepted.
A workspace invite remains active 14 days from the date it was created.
Managing automatic account creation
Workspace admins can enable automatic account creation, allowing users with an approved email domain to join a workspace when they create a Dovetail account. Automatic account creation is enabled by default. For example, if your organization has approved the domain @acme.com, anyone who signs up for Dovetail using an @acme.com email address will automatically be added to the workspace as a Viewer.Note: Automatic account creation is not available on every plan. If you see a diamond icon next to this setting in ⚙️Settings → Authentication, this feature is not available on your plan, and automatic account creation will be enabled by default.
Set up automatic account creation
- If you haven’t already, add an approved email domain under ⚙️Settings → Authentication → Automatic account creation
- Enable or disable Automatic account creation by toggling the setting on or off.
User management
Only admins will be able to manage:- Users roles
- Deleting or deactivating users
- Granting or revoking admin status
Remove users from your workspace
Workspace admins have two options available if they need to remove a user from the workspace:- Deactivate user → If a user is deactivated, they will no longer have access to the workspace, but their account will still exist in case you wish to reactivate them later. Additionally, deactivated users will continue to appear as authors on their contributions.
- Delete user → If a user is deleted, their account will be completely removed and cannot be added back. Their contributions will remain in the workspace, but they will be removed as authors.
Important for the Enterprise plan:If the user being removed is the only person with Full access to a folder, project, channel, or other private content, Dovetail will automatically update permissions to ensure the content remains accessible. Full access will be granted to workspace admins who are also managers. If no workspace admins are managers, Full access will be granted to all managers. More information can be found here.
User roles
On the Enterprise plan and on legacy paid plans, three roles can be assigned to users: Viewer, Contributor, and Manager. On other plans, every user counts toward a seat. To update a user role, navigate to ⚙️ Settings → Users → Locate the user and click their role drop-down, and select the new role.
Each user role has a different set of permissions.
- Available on Enterprise
- Viewers can start conversations and chat with Agents or Digital Twins they have access to, but can’t create or modify workspace content (e.g., creating docs or Agents) from chat. This always requires a paid seat.
Please note that Viewers are only available on the Enterprise plan and on select legacy plans.
Grant admin access to users
Workspace admins can grant admin access to any user in the workspace. Only existing admins can assign or remove admin access.Workspaces that include user roles: Managers, Contributors, and Viewers can be granted admin access in addition to their workspace role.Users with admin access can:
- Manage billing and subscriptions
- Deactivate or delete users
- Configure workspace branding
- Manage authentication and security settings
- Delete the workspace
What are our options if the workspace admins are no longer available?
For security and privacy reasons, we’re unable to change a user’s role or make account-level changes without approval from a workspace admin. If your workspace admin is unavailable, we recommend the following options:Option 1: Ask your IT team to access the workspace
In many cases, your company’s IT team may have access to the workspace admin’s email account. They can use the admin login details to sign in and update user roles directly.If the former admin logged in using SSO only (and never set a Dovetail password), your IT team cannot reset their Dovetail password directly. To access the account, IT would need to retrieve or reset credentials through your identity provider (the SSO provider), not through Dovetail. Once IT has access to the admin’s email, they can use it to sign in via SSO and update user roles.
Option 2: Confirm through the billing contact
If there is a separate billing contact listed for the workspace, they can contact us to confirm which current user should be assigned as a workspace admin.Option 3: Provide verification documentation
If no workspace admin or billing contact is available, and your IT team is unable to access the admin email account to make the change internally, please provide:- A signed and dated letter on company letterhead from your department head
- An explanation of the circumstances
- Confirmation of the requested change (for example, the user and email address that is currently a user that should be made a workspace admin, or a request to cancel the account, etc)
FAQs
Can Viewer roles apply or edit filters in a project?
Can Viewer roles apply or edit filters in a project?
No, Viewers do not have edit access within the workspace. So, they will not be able to add or edit applied filters within a project.